Blocksi - Classroom Management Basics
West Fork Schools now uses Blocksi as a classroom management and student internet filtering platform!
Blocksi has TONS of features, so this Tech Tip will be the intro and the “getting started” of it all. Expect more information in the coming weeks!
Logging In
Click for login instructions
-
To begin, visit https://teacher.blocksi.net. This will give you several buttons to choose from.
We want to use the “Sign in with Google” button. Reach out if you have any issues with the Google button.

Dashboard Overview
Click for the overview
-
This button allows you to import your Google Classroom classes and rosters. Even if you don’t use Google Classroom, you will want to accept your class, and use it just for the purpose of rostering.
-
The “Create Class” button lets you manually create a class. We will use this later on to have a dedicated class for grading.
-
The “Delete Class” button will allow you to delete classes you imported from Google Classroom or manually created.
-
The “Show/Hide Schedule” button will show this nifty screen, which we will discuss a bit later.

-
The “Website Rating Tool” is for testing to see if a website is categorized in a blocked area.

-
The hamburger menu opens up options for viewing and modifying filters for your class. Again, more info later on!

Importing Your Classes
Click to view the instructions
Class Tiles
Click to learn about class tiles
Class tiles are the quickest way to get to several settings and the fastest way to view some pieces of information.
- The name of the class, and the part of the tile to click to open your class.
- The amount of time that the class is supposed to last. This defaults to 80 minutes, but we will provide instructions on how to change it.
- This is the class invitation code, which you will probably never need.
- This will let you set and view the class schedule.
- This will let you see the history of class sessions.
- This will let you delete your class. If you accidentally delete it, you can always just re-import it from Google Classroom.
Basic Class Navigation
Return to the Dashboard (list of classes)
To return to the dashboard (list of classes), click “Blocksi Teacher Dashboard.”

Basic Class Settings
Edit the Class Length
We need to be sure the class length is set correctly. That way we don’t accidentally block students in other classes.

If the time listed in the area where the arrow is pointing is NOT correct, we need to adjust it.
Choose the Default Filter
The filter determines what websites students can and cannot access. You will have the choice of which of our filters you wish to apply to your class.
Basic Functions
Starting a Class
Before you can actually view a student’s screen or manage any of their internet options, you must first start the class.
This will begin counting down the number of minutes until the class automatically ends and students are automatically released.
Stopping a Class
It is important to stop your classes if they end before the timer runs out.
Sync with Google Classroom
If you notice your Blocksi student list is not matching the students on your roster. You can pull those students in from your Google Classroom. Please understand that this ONLY works if schedules have been correct in eSchool/TAC for a day before you try to sync.
It is also important to note that you will NOT see this button if you clicked the log in with Clever button.
Heads Up - Lock Screens
You can lock the screens of students with a “heads up” screen. This will prevent the students from using their device in any way during the duration of time that you set.
Message All Students
Sometimes it might be helpful to send reminders for students to get back on task without verbally stepping in. Maybe this would be helpful if there is a guest speaker of some sort.
Assessments
The assessment feature is very similar to the enforce feature, but students aren’t able to access recourses you don’t specifically allow.
-
In the “Enforced URLs” enter the websites that you want to require to remain open for the duration of the assessment period.

-
In the “Allwed URLs” boxes, enter the websites that you want to ALLOW students to access.

-
When you are finished with the assessment period, click the new “STOP ASSESSMENT” button.

View a Student Screen
The classroom view will automatically show a preview of the Google Chrome page the student is viewing. If the student isn’t in Google Chrome, you will need to open the individual student’s tile to view what they are working on. Please note that students will be prompted to share their screens with you when you do this. If they say no, you will be denied access, and you will have to do it again.
Checking for both AI and Traditional Plagiarism
While this isn’t 100% accurate, it has worked for me more times than not.
-
Choose whether you want to copy and paste text or if you want to upload a file.

-
Choose whether you wish to check for traditional plagiarism or if you wich to check for AI-Generated Text.
Your results will be on the right.
Originally posted by Cory Robbins on the West Fork Technology Hub (2023-08-22).







































No comments to display
No comments to display